Home / Breaking News / AKSG Inaugurates Committee On The New Minimum Wage Implementation
AKSG Inaugurates Committee On The New Minimum Wage Implementation

AKSG Inaugurates Committee On The New Minimum Wage Implementation

A committee to work out modalities for the implementation of the new National Minimum Wage in Akwa Ibom State has been inaugurated. The Committee is to submit it report within one month.

Inaugurating the Committee in her office, the Akwa Ibom State Head of Civil Service, Mrs. Ekerebong Akpan said the new minimum wage will be paid as soon as the necessary documentation is finalised and submitted by the Committee for further necessary action.          She said that with the wealth of experience of the Committee members, the task will be successfully accomplished before long.

Mrs. Akpan informed that Akwa Ibom State was the first state that constituted the Implementation Committee as soon as the Bill was assented to by President Buhari and assured that the state Governor, Mr. Udom Gabriel Emmanuel in his usual favourable disposition to workers welfare, is set to effect the new salary structure in the state. She thanked the Labour movement in the state for their understanding and support which has made the enduring industrial harmony in the state, possible. She particularly, thanked Akwa Ibom workers for supporting the second term bid of the governor to realization. She called on workers not to relent in their commitment to duties to reciprocate Governor Udom’s sincere concern for them.

In their Separate remarks, the Chairman, Nigeria Labour Congress, Comrade Sunny James and his Trade Union Congress Counterpart, Comrade Akamba Awah, thanked the state government for commencing action on the new Minimum Wage implementation. They commended Governor Udom Emmanuel for his worker friendly disposition as evidenced in the prompt and regular payment of workers’ salaries and pensions even before the end of the month and pledged Labour’s continued support. They expressed the hope that the Federal Government will come up with the necessary documents, soon, to aid, guide and ease the negotiation process.

The Committee has the Head of Civil Service, Mrs. Ekerebong Akpan, as the Chairman with the Permanent Secretary, Office of the Head of Civil Service, Dr. Mrs. Comfort Archibong; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Mrs. Emette Imuk; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Economic Development, Labour and Manpower Development, Dr. Mrs. Valerie Obot; Permanent Secretary, Local Government Service Commission, Dr. Otuekong Ukut; Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Barr. Uduak John Eyo-nsa; Accountant General, Pastor Uwem Andrew Essien; Head Budget, Mr. Otu E. Asuquo; Permanent Secretary, Department of Establishments represented by Mrs. Emem Umoh and Special Adviser, Labour, Comrade Unyime Usoro (representing the state government). Others are Chairman, NLC, Chairman, TUC, NULGE President, Comrade Anestina Iweh, and the Chairman, Joint Public Service Negotiating Council, Comrade Tina Essien (representing the organized Labour).

Hits: 0

About admin

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top