Home / Breaking News / Commissioner Inaugurates Two Motor Park Management Committees

Commissioner Inaugurates Two Motor Park Management Committees

Two committees have been inaugurated to oversee the activities of the five government-approved motor parks and improve service delivery in the transport sector.

The committees which are Motor Park Management and Akwa Ibom Central Monitoring Committees followed the dissolution of the previous motor park committees by the state government and reconstitution of persons into the committees.

Under the Central Park Management Committee are Itam Main Park, Mbiabong Park, Long Distance, Ikot Ekpe and Nung Oku Park management Committees with Chairmen while the Akwa Ibom Central Monitoring Committee has advisers.

Inaugurating the committees, the Commissioner of Transport,  Dr. Godwin Ntuk Udeh said the exercise was part of the move to actualise the state government five-point agenda to industrialising the state and achieving political inclusion for its entire people in the sector.

Dr. Udeh said the committees will help restore sanity on the roads and parks, curb touting, and urged members to be proper managers, oversee smooth transport operation, exhibit responsible characters and ensure revenue generation.

The Commissioner commended the State Governor, Mr. Udom Emmanuel for including operators of transport sector in the scheme of things, and advised commuters and others not to indulge in illegal operations and desist from such habit or face the consequences of their actions.

The Permanent Secretary in the ministry, Dr. Efiong Abia noted that the event was aimed at reorganising park management in the state, and advised them to make good use of this opportunity.

Responding,  the Chairman, Central Park Management Committee, Mr. Maurice Edet and that of Akwa Ibom Central Monitoring Committee, Mr. Emmanuel George thanked the State government for reinstating the parks, and promised to deliver their mandate, noting that the motor parks have provided means of livelihood for some people in the state.

Mr. Psalm Usa is the Chairman of Itam Park, Micah Eyo – Mbiabong Park, Ndifreke Umoh Akpa -Long Distance Park, Francis Dan- Ikot Ekpe while Hilary Okon Johnson is the Chairman of Nung Oku Park Management Committee.

Advisers of Akwa Ibom Monitoring Committee are Mr. Maurice Edet, Israel Isaiah Udofia, Mr. Joe Ofong, Comrade Uwem James and Victor Eddie.

Hits: 0

About admin

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top